Tags

, , , ,

“It’s never too late to be who you might have been.” -George Eliot

The first day of rewrites felt exceptionally productive. I had mapped out the tweaks and adjustments necessary and motored through the first six chapters making the changes. I suspect it may slow down because the changes are a little more complicated later in the book when the conflict is more complicated. But I felt good about how it was reading. There seemed to be more push, or pull, depending on your choice of words.

There are some emails, however, I should never read. I postpone my attention to email until later in the day after accomplishing something. Otherwise, I can get bogged down in nothing! Today I read a post from a book publisher talking about publishing and age. The title was “Authors, Are You Too Old To Make It?” Ageism is not a new issue in the world of writing. Screenwriters seem to experience considerable ageism. It you are not between the ages of 25- 35 you are perceived as being out of touch, not tuned into the most lucrative of marketing demographics. One presumably grows in experience and wisdom relative to that experience as we age. But at some point, fuddy-duddiness betrays that experience and wisdom, in the opinion of some.

Poppycock

There are no rules on creativity and its response to experience and wisdom. Hardened attitudes are not the sole domain of the aged. Most writers are looking for recognition in some form. They want to be heard and understood.

The journey is what’s important. If you have but one book and its published when your in your sixties, like Frank McCourt, so be it. The time was right. We serve no talent before its time. The only crime is if you kill the talent before its matured. Talent, experience, point of view, and passion are ingredients not always mixed at a flashpoint except under certain conditions, and those conditions change from person to person. No formula is the only formula, no formula is the definitive formula. The journey is yours follow it to its logical conclusion.

Only One Book?

I am not a spring chicken; like McCourt, I have considerable experience under my belt. But, if my reinvention is to go forward, it is the journey that matters and not my age. If I bloom late in the day, so be it; and isn’t it wonderful that I bloomed at all.

I read an article about Katie Couric in which she says people who are famous aren’t driven by fame. They are passionate about something and want to be the best at it. That is encouraging. Devil’s Gut maybe only one book, but it will be the best book my talent, experience and energy to work my will can produce.

Join me and rush to your mirror, look into it at you. Read my lips, It’s the journey, stupid.

I better be satisfied with a single bloom. This economy has put up enormous roadblocks to financial rewards in whatever your business might be. The publishing business maybe undergoing dramatic changes, but those changes only echo the changes already made in our economy, not the dramatic upheaval likely to occur in the near future. All we can do is paddle like hell and focus on the journey in whatever waters we encounter.

